Skip to Main Content

Council of Majors

“Educating Minds to Change Lives”

The Africana Studies Council of Majors [ASCM], an official standing committee of the Department, serves the purpose of promoting the intellectual and social welfare of students who are declared program majors or minors, or those who have demonstrated an interest in the discipline. It is also charged with the responsibility of enlisting student help in building and maintaining both the Council and the Department.

Membership in the Council is open to students with major or minor concentrations in Africana Studies, though non-majors can serve as ex-officio members of the ASCM. However, only those with a declared major or minor concentration in Africana Studies are eligible for Executive Board positions on the Council.

Executive Board Positions of the Council consist of the following: President, Vice President, Treasurer, Events Coordinator, Publicity Coordinator, Affairs Minister, Alumni Chair, and Community Service Chair. Elections to fill these positions are normally held in the spring preceding the new academic year.